Tags

, , , ,

Author – John Rindy, MPH

What is the last question that most people are asked during a job interview?  Well, it is typically “Do you have any questions for us?”  But what about the question before that? When I conduct mock interviews to help others practice for their upcoming job interviews, here is how I pose the question, “I am leaving to drive home in a few minutes. I interviewed 3 other people for this job today.  Why should I remember you?” Most ask the question more simply, “Why should I hire you?”

What is your brand?  What sets you apart from others and how are you always consistent?  Chick-fil-a sells chicken, and it is darn good.  Eat mor chikn! Right?  Taco Bell is fast, cheap and tastes decent.  Wendy’s is probably the only fast food place where you can get a baked potato.  No matter when you visit these establishments, they are always consistent, in all of these ways.  In what ways are you consistent? What are some words you want people to think when they hear your name? What is something about you that will connect you emotionally with the hiring manager?  How do these coalesce to answer the question “What truly makes you unique?” I think you need to know the answers to these questions to do a really good job answering the question “Why should I hire you?”

Too often I hear mock interviewees simply recap what they already conveyed throughout the interview: “I am a people person and work well with others. Etc.”.  “Why should I hire you?” is not the time to recap and repeat.  When people do this it usually reminds me of the cover letter that keeps repeating “As you will see in my resume. As you will see in my resume. As you will see in my resume.”  If the main part of the interview is the place to say great things about yourself, then “Why should I hire you?” is the place to say more and different things about yourself, things from your personal brand.  It is your brand that makes you both consistent and different from everyone else.

What makes you unique?  I will give you a hint of what does not make you unique:

Knowing Microsoft Word and Excel, working well with others, showing good customer service, being a part of a team, having problem resolution skills, working a cash register, mopping floors, having a great smile, being on time, staying a little late, doing good work. . .these just are not enough.

The bottom line, you need to think through the question, “What makes you truly unique?” The answer to this question will also help you to answer the question, “Why should I hire you?”

It’s your future.  Take charge.